CAMP BGEN OSCAR M FLORENDO- A total of 239 new police recruits took their oath as the newest members of Police Regional Office 1 during the Simultaneous Oath Taking Ceremony administered by PGEN CAMILO PANCRATIUS PASCUA CASCOLAN, Chief, PNP in the National Headquarters, Camp Crame, via zoom at Bauang North Central School, Bauang, La Union.
The rookie cops were composed of 179 males and 60 females, who successfully hurdled the tedious examination and screening processes for CY 2020 1st and 2nd Cycle Patrolman/Patrolwoman Attrition Recruitment Program.
PBGEN RODOLFO SANTOS AZURIN, JR, Regional Director, in his speech, encouraged the recruits to do their best in service. “As early as now, I want you to learn how to follow instructions and learn discipline – because that will take you a long, long way. Gaya ng sinabi ng ating Chief, PNP na si PGEN CAMILO PANCRATIUS CASCOLAN, ang kanyang mga Pulis -- tayo, ay Responsable, Respetado at Disiplinado. Ipakita natin yan,” he added.
After the activity, the recruits were immediately brought to San Roque, San Manuel, Pangasinan where they will undergo six months of training. Aside from allowances, they will receive a basic monthy salary of Php 29,668.00 and will be accorded with the rank of Patrolman/woman.
Of these 239 recruits, 28 were from the province of Ilocos Norte, 44 from Ilocos Sur, 40 from La Union and 127 from Pangasinan. They have undergone RT-PCR Test and completed the 14-day mandatory quarantine period prior to this activity.

CAMP BGEN OSCAR M FLORENDO- An armed encounter between the Philippine Army and Kilusang Larangang Guerilya – Southern Ilocos Sur (KLG-SIS) transpired Saturday afternoon and ended Sunday morning at Barangay Suagayan, Sta Lucia, Ilocos Sur.

Immediately after the clash, operatives from the Regional Mobile Force Battalion 1 (RMFB1) with the personnel of Explosive and Ordnance Division, Special Action Force, Ilocos Sur Police Provincial Office and 81st, IB and 702nd Brigade conducted clearing and retrieval operation at Brgy. Suagayan, Sta Lucia, Ilocos Sur.

One team from RMFB1 103rd Maneuver Company together with the personnel of 81st IB, 7ID, PA were also deployed to conduct clearing and retrieval operation at Brgy. Ayudante, Candon City, Ilocos Sur.

The operating troops were able to recover the following items:
1. 4 pcs M16 Rifle
2. 2pcs M14 Rifle
3. 4 pcs Magazine for M16
4. 6 pcs Magazine for M14
5. 118 rounds of ammunition for M16
6. 75pcs live ammunition for M14
7. 1pc magazine for AK 47
8. 1pc Cal 45 Federal 1911 with Serial Number 506151
9. 2pcs magazine for Cal 45
10. 3pcs handheld radio
11. 1pc Cal 9mm pistol
12. 1pc magazine for Cal 9mm
13. 6pcs improvised IED
14. 1pc Rifle grenade
15. 15pcs improvised electronic blasting cap
16. 10pcs assorted cellphone
17. 2pcs flash drive
18. 1pc firing wire
19. 3 pcs reserve battery for cellphone
20. 6 pcs double AA batteries
21. 20 rounds live ammunition for Cal 9mm
22. 2pcs bolo
23. 1pc powerbank
24. 2pcs switch remote
25. 4pcs bandolier
26. Assorted medical supplies
27. Assorted personal belongings
28. Other subversive documents
29. 1pcs hand grenade
30. Dried Marijuana leaves
31. Dried tobacco leaves
32. 960 pesos in different denominations


CAMP BGEN OSCAR M FLORENDO- Fifteen municipal employees of Cabugao, Ilocos Sur who were accused of Serious Illegal Detention and Grave Coercion surrendered to the operatives of Police Regional Office 1 under the direct supervision of Police Brigadier General Rodolfo S Azurin Jr, Regional Director at the PRO1 Auditorium, Camp Florendo, Parian, City of San Fernando, La Union.

The case was filed February last year, when the former Mayor of Cabugao, Ilocos Sur, Josh Edward Cobangbang and 19 others allegedly detained a resort operator and several employees during the closure of the resort .

Police Brigadier General Rodolfo S Azurin, Jr PRO1 Regional Director identified the suspects as:

Katrina Cruz Soriano, 33; Raquel Somera Ancheta, 51; Ednalyn Sabaten Silario, 46;Jessar Rei Siababa Cruz, 24; Constancia Lazo Quinola,61; Humprey Savellano Catriz, 39; Jerly Oda Manantan Flores, 24 and Benny Sardeng Agbayani, 26 (Surrendered August 6, 2020, Friday).

Kevin Segui Somera, 34; Austin Giorgio Soller Serna, 25; Alvin Silario Solis, 30;Ronillo Somera Santigo, 51 Renato Sabugo Roman, 57; Rexor Moisis Cruz Abara, 26; and Richard Siruno Pula, 48 (Surrendered August 7, 2020, Saturday).

Based on the report, the said accused consecutively surrendered when joint operatives of Cabugao Municipal Police Station together with the CIDG Ilocos Sur PFU and operatives from the Regional Investigation and Detective Management Division (RIDMD), Regional Mobile Force Battalion 1 and Provincial Intelligence Unit, Ilocos Sur launched a manhunt operation to implement the Warrant of Arrest against them for Serious Illegal Detention and Grave Coercion issued by Hon. Gemma P Bucayu-Madrid, Executive Judge, RTC Branch 12, Sanchez Mira, Cagayan dated October 22, 2019.

The surrender of said accused was made through the help of Cabugao Mayor Edgardo S Cobangbang, Jr who convinced them to surrender to the authorities.

PBGen Azurin stressed that the success of the series of arrests connotes the stepped up campaign against wanted persons and the stronger and more comprehensive collaboration of all PNP units.

“Let us sustain the momentum and work hand-in-hand to bring our anti-criminality efforts successful to encourage a progressive community to live, work, sustain and do business,” the Regional Director said.

Meanwhile, PBGen Azurin also made an appeal to all wanted persons to surrender and submit themselves to the judicial processes prescribed by law.####


CAMP BGEN OSCAR M FLORENDO – Police Regional Office 1 under the leadership of Police Brigadier General Rodolfo Santos Azurin Jr., Regional Director commemorates its 119TH Police Service Anniversary Celebration with the theme: “Towards A Pandemic- Resilient PNP: Adopting Protective Protocols In The New Normal” at the PRO1 Grandstand, Camp Brigadier General Oscar M Florendo, Parian, City of San Fernando, La Union this morning (August 6) at 7:30 AM.

The celebration is highlighted with the conferment of awards to the following distinguished personnel and police units in the region for their outstanding performance of duty and relentless efforts in the anti-criminality campaign of PRO1:

Individual Awards
• PCOL REDRICO A MARANAN -Best Senior PCO for Administration
• PCOL NATHANIEL G VILLEGAS -Best Senior PCO for Operations
• PLTCOL VICENTE P CASTOR JR -Best Junior PCO for Administration
• PMAJ ANDREW P RABANG -Best Junior PCO for Operation
• PEMS Eduardo J Dispo -Best Senior PNCO for Administration
• PMSg Bembo G Soriano -Best Senior PNCO for Operations
• PSSg Raymond P Pena -Best Junior PNCO for Administration
• PSSg Melanie S Daclan -Best Junior PNCO for Operations
• NUP Gerald A Perez -Best NUP (Non-Supervisory Level)

Special Awards


• PSSg Carlos Ian M Furugganan -Pangasinan PPO (PNCO)

Unit Awards
• Pangasinan PPO -Best Provincial Police Office
• Dagupan CPS -Best City Police Station
• Villasis MPS -Best Municipal Police Station
• La Union 1st PMFC -Best Provincial Mobile Force Company
• 104th MC, RMFB1 -Best RMFB1 Maneuver Company