History of Police Regional Office 1

The office was activated on June 1, 1978 and was first known as the Philippine Constabulary/Integrated National Police Regional Command 1 (PC/INP Recom 1) originally stationed at Camp Bado Dangwa, La Trinidad, Benguet.

It originally covered part of the Cordilleras and the Ilocos provinces. The activation of the PC/INP Cordillera Command on April 1, 1989 paved the way for the Regional Command to transfer its office at Camp Diego Silang, Carlatan, San Fernando City, La Union with only four (4) provinces left under its jurisdiction namely: Pangasinan, La Union, Ilocos Sur and Ilocos Norte. It subsequently acquired its permanent site at Parian, San Fernando City, La union on July 29, 1989 and it was named Camp Brigadier General Oscar M Florendo on May 2, 1991 in honor of the late Brigadier General Oscar M Florendo, an outstanding Military Officer from La Union.

Police Regional Office I Today

Police Regional Office 1 is the "Home of the Citizen-Friendly Policemen and Protector of Human Rights." To accomplish its tasks of law enforcement and maintenance of peace and order, Police Regional Office 1 is organized into 4 Police Provincial Offices (PPOs), 1 Regional Public Safety Battalion (RPSB), 7 Provincial Public Safety Management Companies (PPSCs) and 125 City/Municipal Police Stations (CPSs/MPSs). Police Regional Office 1 covers the area of Ilocos region comprising of four provinces, namely: Ilocos Norte, Ilocos Sur, La Union and Pangasinan.

Today, PRO1 leads the way in providing law enforcement and public safety services nationwide and from this humble beginning, Camp Florendo was dubbed as the "Newest Tourism and Golf Center" in La Union in 1997. Truly, it looks like one of the fine resorts of La Union now ranks among the Country's Best Regional Office complete with modern facilities making each member stand proud of its tradition of excellence. It adopted to embrace the Slogan: " Home of the Citizen-Friendly Policemen and Protector of Human Rights".